Moondays

Full Moon 2020 New Moon 2020
Saturday 11 January Friday 24 January
Sunday 9 February Monday 24 February
Tuesday 10 March Tuesday 24 March
Wednesday 8 April Thursday 23 April
Thursday 7 May Saturday 23 May
Friday 5 June Sunday 21 June
Sunday 5 July Tuesday 21 July
Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 19 August
Wednesday 2 September Thursday 17 September
Friday 2 October Saturday 17 October
Sunday 1 November Sunday 15 November
Monday 30 November Tuesday 15 December
Wednesday 30 December

moondays

2020 Moondays

There are no AM Mysore classes held on the days of Full Moon and New Moon.

Applies only to early MORNING Mysore Style classes 5.30 – 8.00am

In many ancient spiritual traditions, including Yoga, the moon cycle was used as a guide for living and was considered mysterious and powerful. As we know, the moon rules the tides. As human beings are comprised of about 70% water, we are also affected by the phases of the moon.

During a full moon we tend to feel more energetic, emotional, and are more headstrong. Related to the rising energy of the inhalation we lose our sense of grounding. A new moon will make us more reflected, inward drawn, calm, and grounded. Related to the contracting, downward moving nature of the exhalation, we might experience a lack of motivation for any physical activity.

Through a regular Yoga practice we become more sensitive to the cycles of the moon and as such it forms part of the teaching of Yoga. At the time of the emergence of Yoga in ancient India, people were more closely connected with the lunar cycle. For students of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga today it is important that on days of the full or new moon that we do not practice asana (posture). However, as Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a tool for transformation, it is encouraged to consider the moon cycle as a time to study ancient texts, such as the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali or a time for chanting and meditation. At North Sydney Yoga only the early morning Mysore Style classes are affected by moondays. The moondays chosen are those that fall closest to the actual Australian full or new moon.