Moondays

New Moon 2021 Full Moon 2021
Wednesday 13 January Friday 29 January
Friday 12 February Saturday 27 February
Saturday 13 March Monday 29 March
Monday 12 April Tuesday 27 April
Wednesday 12 May Wednesday 26 May
Thursday 10 June Friday 25 June
Saturday 10 July Saturday 24 July
Sunday 8 August Sunday 22 August
Tuesday 7 September Tuesday 21 September
Wednesday 6 October Thursday 21 October
Friday 5 November Friday 19 November
Saturday 4 December Sunday 19 December

moondays

2021 Moondays

There are no AM Mysore classes held on the days of Full Moon and New Moon.

Applies only to early MORNING Mysore Style classes 5.30 – 8.00am

In many ancient spiritual traditions, including Yoga, the moon cycle was used as a guide for living and was considered mysterious and powerful. As we know, the moon rules the tides. As human beings are comprised of about 70% water, we are also affected by the phases of the moon.

During a full moon we tend to feel more energetic, emotional, and are more headstrong. Related to the rising energy of the inhalation we lose our sense of grounding. A new moon will make us more reflected, inward drawn, calm, and grounded. Related to the contracting, downward moving nature of the exhalation, we might experience a lack of motivation for any physical activity.

Through a regular Yoga practice we become more sensitive to the cycles of the moon and as such it forms part of the teaching of Yoga. At the time of the emergence of Yoga in ancient India, people were more closely connected with the lunar cycle. For students of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga today it is important that on days of the full or new moon that we do not practice asana (posture). However, as Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a tool for transformation, it is encouraged to consider the moon cycle as a time to study ancient texts, such as the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali or a time for chanting and meditation. At North Sydney Yoga only the early morning Mysore Style classes are affected by moondays. The moondays chosen are those that fall closest to the actual Australian full or new moon.